diet revisited

So, since the “loads of food” diet run, things have been moving along.  I don’t have the time/patience/energy/desire to keep track of every single thing that I put into my mouth, but that doesn’t mean that I’ve given up completely.  I did do a solid few months of weighing and measuring and luckily I can kinda eyeball what I “should” be taking in.  What am I doing now, you ask??…well, I’m pretty much eating whatever/whenever I want but keeping it clean.  Breakfast/pre-gym meal is still fruit, like an apple or banana and almonds and raisins.  That seems to do the trick right now.  Sometimes I will have an egg sandwich with whole grain toast.  When I get home from the gym I usually eat a ton.  Today I had last night’s honey-lime enchiladas (even though it was only 10:30 in the morning) and boy, did that hit the spot. I’ve been on this diet path, as most of you have for a while.  I’ve been doing a lot of pondering on what I should or shouldn’t eat and I had a mini epiphany the other day.  This may be totally common sense to everyone else, but to me it really has hit home and I’m feeling much better about this whole idea.

Most people diet because they want their body to look a certain way.  We at Buffbetty (or just “myself” at buffbetty, but I think “we” sounds pretty rad) don’t diet because we want to look good.  Oh no, we diet because we want to be beasts!  And “diet” doesn’t necessarily mean cutting calories, or doing some trendy crap.  Your DIET is EVERYTHING that you put into your mouth.  If you sit around drinking starbucks and eating donuts, then you’re on a diet of starbucks and donuts.  My “diet” is meant to be fuel, its gas in the tank, its what builds my muscles.

So back to my mini-epiphany… “I am not concerned with what my body looks like.  My concern is how my body performs.”   If I am tearing it up every day and progressing, then the look good part will come naturally.

But as I say this, I also add in that I am not sitting around drinking starbucks and eating donuts.  At least not every day…  But I pretty much eat clean food.  A lot of clean food.  Stuff that I prepare and not take out.

I used to be blown away that a lot of legit, top of the top athletes sit around eating pizza and drinking beer.  Like everyday.  But what is most amazing is that their bodies are freakin legit as well.  Mmmhmm.  Take into consideration this photo of Brandon Phillips.  Who at the Outlaw way camp told us straight out that he does workouts while he’s drunk and eating Taco Bell at the same time.  Well, that seems to be doing a body good ;)  The man himself…

So, I’m kidding. Not about Brandon, because that was totally true, but I’m sure that can’t be optimal fuel for everyone!  But seriously,  as long as you avoid fast food, soda and junk on a regular basis you will be just fine if your workout routine is top notch.  Could you be the best ever by mapping it all out and measuring and getting wrapped up in it?  Maybe.  But for kids like me who don’t have the time, this is working pretty darn good.  Til next time.

One thought on “diet revisited

  1. Well after reading this I feel a ton better about the meat/cheese lasgna fueled work out on Tuesday and the bottle of wine from Saturday. :) I am also not the person with the desire/dedication/time to measure out and track everything I eat I just try to keep it clean most of the time.

Leave a Reply

