CrossFit and bodybuilding are totally different!

So, sorry for the little hiatus!  My nerves got the best of me for a little while, but that’s another story that I will save for later in the week!

There are still a lot of people who don’t know or understand what CrossFit is.  (are you living under a rock or something ;)  I will get loads of people who come in (especially ladies) and say “I don’t want to do crossfit because I’m afraid I will get too muscular. I want to be lean and toned.”  There is a misconception going around that if you lift weights you will look like this….

Are you kidding me?!? Probably .0001% of the population thinks this looks good.  And besides, do you know how hard those women work to look like that?  For one, they eat like 4000 calories a day, probably take loads of growth hormones and sit around doing muscle isolation workouts i.e…curls, leg extensions and leg curls.  Don’t get me wrong.  These are all movements that are ok, but could you imagine one of these ladies running a sub 7 mile?  No way!!

The purpose of crossfit is all around fitness.  Yes, being strong goes along with “all around fitness” and as part of that you are going to have muscles (really good looking ones).  My goal is to be good at everything.  It is to prepare myself for any possible situation.  If your goal is to be strong and healthy and to have your body ready and able to go on long likes, run a 10K at the spur of the moment, lift that overloaded box off food from costco out of your shopping cart, then crossfit is for you.  Its for real people.

 

Check out this hot mama from beforeandafterlooks.com.  She looks strong and beautiful!

If you want to be a frail little thing who can run a marathon but not be able to jump or pick something up, then that’s your business.  But know that in the real life (not the victoria’s secret runway life) there are times when you are going to have to be strong.  Answer me this ladies.  You are all alone at night in a parking lot at the mall.  There is a creeper just waiting for some helpless lady to walk by.  Is he most likely to chose a skinny, malnourished model type, or a strong, confident, athlete??

Ponder that for a while and come back and visit me when your done obsessing over that size 2!

Leave a Reply

