Tzatziki at home!!!!

                                             Image

If you have never had Tzatziki (tza-tzee-kee) then you really should.  If you’ve had it and don’t like it, then you’re really weird!!!  Back in the day when I was eating grains, we would go to Pita Jungle and pig out on Tzatziki and flat bread.  YUM!!  Now, that the flat bread isn’t an option, I never really thought of making it.  But let me tell you!!  I made some today and it was incredible!!  I was looking for something to substitute ranch dressing for my kids when I cam across tzatziki.  In case you didn’t know, ranch dressing may motivate kids to eat certain things, but it is not at all good for them!  I gave my kids some of this yummy stuff for dinner and wa-lah!  Downing carrots, snap peas and broccoli with no problem at all.  It is made primarily with greek yogurt which has LOADS of protein.  This could just replace my greek yogurt/honey binge that I go into when I’m craving chocolate.  Its super easy and super tasty, so try it and let me know what you think…

Combine the first ingredients in a bowl and whisk it up really well. 

1 1/2 Tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 Tablespoon of vinegar

1 clove of garlic, finely minced

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/8 teaspoon of white pepper ( i only had regular pepper and it was fine)

 

Once the first ingredients are mixed add to the bowl:

1 cup of greek yogurt

1 cucumber, peeled, with seeds removed and grated (like with a cheese grater)

1/2 teaspoon of chopped fresh dill ( i only had dried dill, but I’m sure the fresh stuff would be AMAZING)

 

Stir it all together until well mixed and you can’t see the oil anymore, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours to let the flavors come together.  One tip I could leave with you is that after you grate the cucumber you should sandwich it between a few paper towels to get the excess moisture out.   

Use it for a veggie or meat dip, or if you are a grains person, dip the flat bread in it or put it on gyros.  Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Tzatziki at home!!!!

  1. I make this all the time and actually serve a really similar version at my restaurant, too. Makes for a really great summer fondue – I dip bits of lamb, olives, and cucumber in it. Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

