Back with a vengance

So excuse my little blogging hiatus.  Things were super crazy and are just now settling down.  Not only that but my diet was totally sabotaged.  It all started with a fundraiser bake sale where I ended up buying a plate of lemon bars and a plate of homemade caramel turtles!  That did me in.  Its amazing how when you go sugar free for a while you stop craving it, but the minute I gave into it I was hooked all over again.  That started a downward spiral and I lost a lot of progress that I had made over the past couple of months.  I’ve been off of sugar for about a week now and feel so much better.

So, super exciting news.  I entered into a 60 day fat loss competition at my gym.  If I win, I win money.  And if there is one thing that I’m motivated by, its good, healthy competition! I plan on documenting this whole experience.  The day of the final weigh in is May 5th.  So this leaves very little time to mess around.

Here’s my beginning stats

weight:140

body fat : 22%

I started a week ago and am already down 4 pounds.  My goal is to weigh 130 and have a 12% body fat.  Here’s my plan…

I will eat mainly a high protein/healthy fats diet.  I plan on eating between 50-75 g of carbs a day (all of which coming from fruits and veggies) This means no sugars, no grains and no dairy.

I am incorporating 2 heavy lifting days per week along with my met con workouts (metabolic conditioning)  and I will do 2 endurance or sprint workouts per week.

So, here is my diet plan for today

breakfast: 2 eggs with salsa and avocado

mid day meal (or when ever I get hungry next) protein smoothie with almond milk and almond butter (this is almost like a dessert!!)

next time I get hungry I will snack on turkey or chicken breasts and some type of fruit

Dinner:  elk steaks with mixed veggies

So, the point of this type of eating is to not “schedule” your meals.  You should listed to your body.  Just because lunch is at 12 doesn’t mean I have to eat at 12.  If I’m not hungry I’ll wait.  On the other hand if I am starving at 10, I don’t plan on starving myself until “lunch time”.  I’m eating when I’m hungry.  So,  I plan on getting my new body fat test this weekend to see how I’ve progressed.  I will keep you posted!

One thought on “Back with a vengance

  1. I want to try elk! I love meat and I have yet to try elk! I’m thinking of doing a sugar detox here soon. But I’m afraid I’ll end up ruining it come Easter – but i don’t want to wait that long to start…

Leave a Reply

