girls and their hormones (guys should prob. skip this one)

There are certain times of the month where I find myself pigging out.  Its a very strange thing.  I feel like for 3/4 of the month I am in control, and then all of a sudden I lose it.  I don’t know what happens, other than I turn in to a ravenous beast and no matter what, I can’t get full.  Its almost like the first stages of pregnancy…(and no, def. not preggo).  I was, however a little interested in the subject and found out some interesting facts that I thought I would share.

Fact 1.  You burn 15% more calories on your period than when you’re not.  This is a little exciting. even though it means working out during that special time (which definitely is not exciting) you get more bang for your buck so to speak.  So pull your bloated behind into the gym already!!!

Fact 2.  That serious carb loading that I’m doing is actually caused from a dip in my serotonin levels ( a chemical that regulates well being and appetite)  However!!!!!!  Your body actually compensates for these extra calories by increasing your metabolic rate. Your metabolism increases about 5 to 10 percent in the days before menstruation. (so says livestrong.com)

Fact 3.  That craving for salty potato chips is making you extra bloated.  Avoid salt like the plague at this time of the month.

Fact 4. Eating green veggies can reduce the spams that cause cramps because of their high calcium, magnesium and potassium content.

So, at least I know that all of that eating is there for a reason.  I usually try to take the week of because i am not a dieter that enjoys struggling through hunger, and I don’t know about you, but pigging out on loads of veggies just isn’t going to happen!  So, cut yourself some slack if you feel the monthly visitor coming over.  Take a little break from your diet, but make sure you kick some butt at the gym!!

3 thoughts on “girls and their hormones (guys should prob. skip this one)

Leave a Reply

