Brick Walls

Lately I’ve been having a lot of pain in the arch of my foot.  I have come to expect some pain with training.  Its just one of the perks of working your tail off.  But this pain hasn’t seemed to go away.  I took my problems to a foot Dr. where I’ve been prescribed to take it easy, get fitted for some orthotics and possibly have a small bone removed from my foot.  I’m ok with this.  I’m not a big overreact-er so I just figured that this injury will give me an opportunity to fine tune some things at the gym.  I’ve been doing a ton of skill work and working ENDLESSLY on my muscle up.  My goal was to have my first muscle up before the new year.  Well, here we are the last day of the year and I haven’t gotten my muscle up.  I’ve meditated, visualized, watched videos, watched other people, everything short of fasting (ha! maybe I should try it ;) and it just hasn’t happened.  Its depressing and its taken over my brain.  I’ve hit a wall.  A point where I say “screw it, I don’t care, I’m done” or put on my big girl pants and keep going.   Well, just in time for this dilemma, I happen to be reading a book called “The last lecture”  There is a quote in this book that I thought could be beneficial to anyone who has hit their brick wall, whether it be weight loss, running, or any type of goal…

“Brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want something badly enough. They are there to keep out the other people”

I’ve hit my brick wall, and have been totally humbled by it….but I’m ready to break it down. I may have to do it brick by brick and it could take forever, but I am going to do it.  For everyone out there with something holding you back…hit it head on.  If you want something bad enough, you can have it.  It probably won’t come quickly, but the character that you build from your struggles makes it all worth while!

3 thoughts on “Brick Walls

  1. Hey Lady,
    LOVE this post. My Grandmother gave that book to me when she was finishing her final stages of cancer. (Her’s was the picture up in the lobby for our Barbells for Boobs event this past September.) That book is extreamly motivating..and helps you keep your priorities strait. You are on track for that muscle-up, and so much more!!! See you this week!
    -Courtney @ CrossFit SanTan

Leave a Reply

