Paleo super simplified

Whenever someone I know switches to Paleo they are always wondering what to eat!   for those of you who don’t know what paleo is…basically its a hunter gatherer way of eating.  Some people also call it primal eating.  Eating no processed foods, grains, dairy, sugars.  Everything is from the earth…meat, veggies, little fruit, nuts and the like.  Its so basic, yet people get really stumped by it.  The best advice I can give is to keep it simple.   What really worked for me was to think on a small scale in terms of meal planning.   Dinners basically consist of meat and veggies of course.  I don’t go searching for that copy cat “Parmesan chicken” or whatever else.  And even if I did, in all reality I probably wouldn’t make it anyway.  I’m a minimalist in the kitchen.  I will throw 8 chicken breasts in the crockpot with some seasonings and just steam some veggies.  Easiest dinner ever.  And that way I have a roasted chicken breast for lunch the next day.  The next day, I will do the same thing.  Elk roast and veggies.  And I’ve said it before…it may be boring for some people but I think boring is best.  That way I don’t over eat.  I think what has helped me so much is to not be so passionate about how fancy the food is that I’m eating.   Food is meant to be fuel and yet everything we do all day revolves around it.  By making it super basic it will be easier not to grab seconds or thirds.  So breakfast, simple.  eggs/veggie omelet.  lunch left over meat from the night before/veggies and fruit.  dinner.  meat and veggies.  snacks: macadamias, fruit, veggie salad.  anything in raw form.  Its THAT easy!!  So many times we try so hard to change what we eat when what we really need to change is HOW we think of food.

Like I said, I’m a super minimalist in the kitchen. but i did happen to make something special for Sunday dinner.

Pineapple Chicken Curry

saute 1/4 cup of red curry paste for a few minutes in a wok or large frying pan.  add 4 cut up chicken breast and cook until no longer pink.  Add 2 cans of unsweetened coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of fish sauce.  Stir and bring to a simmer.  Add cut up peppers (red and green) onion, pineapple chunks and bamboo shoots if you have them.  Let simmer until the veggies are cooked (not mushy)

Now this took about 20 minutes or so.  Not too bad.

But the trick to eating better is to avoid eating it over rice.  You have to change your brain to think that eating stir fry with no noodles or rice is ok.  Or eating curry like a soup is ok!

There you have it.  Paleo as basic as it gets!  Now do it!!

2 thoughts on “Paleo super simplified

  1. Why oh why does it look so easy when I read it and then trying to plan things it seems so difficult. Maybe my brain is trying to make it difficult so it keeps getting all the stuff it’s accustomed to eating!!! I’ve always been the type of person that likes to try “new” things to eat…mostly not healthy or good for me. I think that’s what scares me is that it seems that everyday will pretty much be the same thing with a slight variation. I have to retrain my brain to think that is the way to eat, not the way I have been thinking. I have always had the mentality that I “live to eat.” Gotta change that!!!

  2. Pingback: Breakfast On The Paleo Diet « My Paleo Diet Blog

Leave a Reply

