Adding some hot yoga to the regimen

My sister has been forever trying to get me into Bikram Yoga.   I can never seem to make it happen though.  A. they don’t have childcare B. the class is 90 minutes long and it takes 30 min to drive there and C. its like $120 a month.  But sis swears by it so I thought and thought of how I could make it happen.  And then it dawned on me.  Why can’t I make my own little yoga studio at home?!?!  So I did a little research, printed off a list of all of the poses and got all the gear together and ta-dah!  Here’s what I did.  I got a hot mist humidifier (the vicks ones are like $12 at wal-mart)  I pulled out my space heater and pushed aside my work station in my salon room.  (i do it here because its a small room and there is a convenient mirror in there) About 2 hours before I plan on getting my yoga pose on I crank that heater up so it gets super toasty.  I also like to take in my little Ihome and put on some relaxing music.  and a candle to set the mood.  I wear a sweat suit because my room doesn’t quite get up to that 97 or whatever degrees.

So I’ve decided that I would do this on my rest days from the gym.  I actually look forward to it!  I get the kids all laid down for bed and try to get my chi flowing.  Here’s what’s happened just after a few sessions…. My skin is way more clear and soft.  (I’m guessing its due to the loads of sweat/toxins that was pouring out)  My flexibility has increased,  it took away that week long soreness from those dang body weight back squats! I’ve even noticed a change in my waist size and I’m a couple pounds down.  And on top of it all I feel so great afterward.  And this is only after a week or two of trying it!

So, thanks sis, I really enjoy the hot yoga…even if I probably look silly doing it.  Falling over and what-not, it still is a great workout and super relaxing!

Here’s a couple more tips for those of you who want to try it at home

Find a small room, a bathroom works great.  Get a space heater and turn it up as high as it goes. Fill a hot bath for humidity just before you start.  And make sure you read up on hot yoga and watch some videos just so you see what you’re supposed to look like and so you don’t hurt yourself.  For the poses, I just google image searched “bikram yoga poses” and a bunch of printables popped right up.   It also helped to look through the images of the people doing the poses.

There you have it. This is an awesome way to spruce up your workouts, lose some inches, work on some meditation skills and de-stress!

Let me know how it goes!!

2 thoughts on “Adding some hot yoga to the regimen

Leave a Reply

