on my plate

Just about every day I get asked what I eat.  Now, I’m not the queen of diet by any means, and different things work for everyone, but here’s an example of my typical day of eating.

Breakfast- I try to eat within an hour of waking up.  Breakfast is such an important meal, especially since I workout in the morning.   I eat 2 eggs with some type of veggie (bell peppers and onions, or even salsa)  If I have some meat left over from the night before I will throw that in there too (ham, steak or pork) but only about 1/4 cup of chopped up pieces)  I loooove to put hot sauce on my eggs.  Especially frank’s. mmmmm…  Things I avoid at breakfast.  Cheese, milk bread and fruit.  Cheese and milk because I noticed that when I gave up dairy I lost a ton of inches within a couple of weeks and now that I’ve given it up my digestion is way better.  Bread because I try to avoid grains and processed foods.  And fruit because I like to use my fruit as a treat or dessert.

Post workout I have a protein smoothie!  This is my LOVE during the day.  I throw a cup of frozen fruit and a scoop of powder.  Avoid adding sweetener!  fruit has a lot of sugar in it already!  I also like to throw in a few almonds.

For lunch- I get really yummy sliced meat from costco.  My favorite is pastrami.  I will cut up some red bell peppers and avocado and roll it up in a few slices of meat.   Super simple, super healthy and really yummy!

If I need a snack between lunch and dinner, its normally trail mix.  I have to keep a handle on it though, because trail mix is super fattening.

For dinner- I keep it pretty basic.  Lean meat or fish with some type of veggies (no white potatoes)  My husband loves to hunt so mainly we eat a lot of elk meat.

So there you have it.  Some would say that its a really boring menu.  Well, sometimes it does get boring but remember I am eating to live and not living to eat.  My body needs good fuel to perform the way I want it to.  I do allow my self a cheat day on Saturday.  I try not to go completely off of the hinges, but I had some popcorn and a soda at the movies this past weekend. GASP!

Here’s today’s challenge… Try to give up something that you crave  (soda, sugar, salt)  and replace it with a tall glass of water.  If you still have the craving, have another glass of water until it goes away.

Workout…. 3 rounds of 50 air squats and 150 jump rope singles  (if you don’t have a jump rope, you can just pretend that you’re jumping

Now, let me know how you did!

3 thoughts on “on my plate

  1. and actually popcorn is low in calories (!), and depending on the how much butter you use, naturally low in fat…almost harmless

Leave a Reply

